KOIQOUISE INTERVIEW: ADANYA FLEMING

This is Adanya! (@its.adanya) She is a self taught artist from Los Angeles, California. She is a beautiful girl, with beautiful art, she’s got huge locks of hair, and a really huge heart! KOIQOUISE got to ask Adanya about her art and herself!

Check Out the Interview Below…

Screen shot 2016-06-22 at 2.01.11 PM.png
@its.adanya Instagram

KQ: Hello Adanya, and thank you for coming onto the site! I love when someone talented is self taught, it shows a lot of dedication to your art! What was the hardest thing for you to learn on your own?

AF: One of the hardest things for me to learn on my own was to truly be myself and how to truly express myself.

KQ: Your hair is amazing! The black to purple you currently have is stunning! How often do you usually change up your hair style?

AF: I change my hair style frequently, within a year-and-a-half I’ve had 5 or more different styles. I’ve had blue, turquoise, black, brown, and purple hair but there’s definitely many more styles and colors to come.

Screen shot 2016-06-22 at 1.58.27 PM
@its.adanya Instagram

KQ: You have an amazing sense of style, where are your favorite places to shop?

AF: Some of my favorite places to shop are at my local thrift stores. I love some of the things I usually find are beautiful rustic clothes and I love it because it’s so different from anything that you’d see at the mall. I also shop at Forever 21, G-Stage, and H&M for my everyday basics.

Screen shot 2016-06-22 at 1.58.32 PM.png
@its.adanya Instagram

KQ: As well as style and beauty, your art is another aspect of you that is truly beautiful! How do you gain inspiration for your pieces?

AF: I gain inspiration for my art from many different things. One main influence of my art was the forest from the movie Avatar. The way the forest glows in the night really inspired the mythical fantasy people I draw in my art. Also creativity and just being able to produce something from my own hands is inspiration enough for me. Many people don’t get the privilege of being able to draw without having to take classes and because I have this talent it’s just inspiring to be able to share with other people.

KQ: Who are your favorite artists and why?

AF: One of my favorite artist is Andy Warhol because even though his art is prints of simple items he was the only one in his time to create something different, bold, and bright and it stood out from the others.
Another one of my favorite artists is Wyland. He creates seascapes and landscapes and they are beautiful. Living in California I get to see a lot of the murals he’s painted around the beaches. Also I used to watch his show when he would paint and it really inspired me to learn how to paint.

Screen shot 2016-06-22 at 1.59.33 PM
@its.adanya Instagram

KQ: Last but not least, do you have any words or a message for the viewers here at KOIQOUISE?

AF: The one thing that you guys all need to remember is that the only thing people are really scared of in this world is the confidence to be yourself and to not be afraid to show everyone who you really are. Thank you for reading all about me. Follow your dreams and Love you all!

Screen shot 2016-06-22 at 1.57.38 PM.png
@its.adanya Instagram

Leave a Reply

