KOIQOUISE INTERVIEW: JEANETTE CONVERSE

Meet Jeanette Converse! She is a Kawaii designer and stylist living in Brooklyn, NY. She has such a lovely optimistic attitude, and KOIQOUISE was fortunate enough to ask her a few questions!

Check out the Interview Below…

KQ: Welcome to the site, Jeanette Converse! It’s an honor to have you here, so first question is how old are you?

JC: I am an ageless Unicorn!

KQ: You’re a designer from NYC and a Kawaii stylist, what is that life like? What does your job consist of?

JC: NYC is a wonderful place to live! It is full of inspiration and other awesome creative people. It can also be really difficult sometimes though, as it is an expensive place to live. You really have to hustle to make your dreams come true. I work crazy hours, several jobs, and in my free time I am constantly creating one of a kind pieces for my own line. But I love it!

My jobs consists of styling for photo shoots and music videos, being a buyer at a resale shop, and creating one of a kind handmade pieces for my own line.

I am also married to a handsome and talented artist and have a maltepoo named Glitter!

Screen shot 2016-06-23 at 5.59.08 PM.png
@jeanetteconverse Instagram


KQ: You have an amazing sense of style and your Kawaii looks are killer! Is there any secret to making the Kawaii look really work?

JC:  Oh my gosh thank you so much! I have loved kawaii fashion for over ten years now and really enjoy studying and experimenting with it. My favorite thing about kawaii fashion is that there really is no secret to making it work. I just wear pieces that make me really happy!!!

Screen shot 2016-06-23 at 6.00.33 PM.png
@jeanetteconverse Instagram

KQ: Who are your top favorite stylists, models, and/or places to shop?

JC: My favorite stylists are Bea Akerlund (Madonna, Beyoncé), Kumiko Iijima (Kyary Pamyu Pamyu), Christian Joy (Karen O), Misha Janette (Kawaii International), and Stella Rose Saint Claire (Doll Eyes, Melanie Martinez).

I mostly shop online from independent designers and resale/ vintage shops. Some of my favorites are Macy Daisy, Discount Universe, Miss Alphabet, Marina Fini, Christian Joy, 6% Doki Doki, and Swankiss.

Screen shot 2016-06-23 at 6.00.49 PM.png
@jeanetteconverse Instagram

KQ: In your Instagram pictures you are in so many awesome locations! Do you travel a lot?

JC:  I don’t get to travel as much as I would like! I really love walking around new cities and seeing new art and fashion. I was fortunate enough to go to Tokyo last year for the second time and I really cannot get enough of it! My husband and I would really love to live there someday.

But most of my Instagram photos are taken by my husband, just walking around Greenpoint, Brooklyn, near our apartment. Greenpoint is really beautiful and full of fun street art so it’s perfect for shooting!

Screen shot 2016-06-23 at 6.00.12 PM.png
@jeanetteconverse Instagram

KQ: It was a pleasure to be able to interview you, the last question is what words do you have for the viewers at KOIQOUISE?

JC: My favorite fashion trend right now is positivity and being kind to each other and I am really hoping that goes viral. Thanks so much for having me KOIQOUISE!

Leave a Reply

